Skip to content

A voting day message by Harry Thomas – a student nurse in the UK.

May 7, 2015

The following message marks a one-off break with my normal blog practice. It is not written by me, but by my young nephew, Harry – a busy student nurse in a hospital in the midlands of the UK. Harry felt moved to pen a message on the day of voting in the UK General Election. I felt his words deserved to be seen more widely – and this was the simplest place to make that happen. I have edited and changed nothing. The words are all his.

harry

I hope whoever emerges as the victor of today’s voting has the dignity, honour and pride to acknowledge – truthfully – what our NHS is. I hope they will endeavour to put pilfered resources back into it – and place it back into the hands of the public.

As a soon to hopefully qualify student nurse, even in my comparably short time training I’ve held a hand of life as it passed, both peacefully and tragically. I’ve watched it begin, both dramatically and beautifully. I’ve watched it break, and then helped it heal. All while under the same word: NHS. And I’m not the only one. Just on my course alone I’ve met countless incredible student nurses and training doctors – all of whom will go on to be inspiring and admirable practitioners. We all want our NHS; and we all want to fight for it. For you. But we need your help, too.

If you’re voting today, just remember that you may one day be at its doors with your loved ones and your life may well be at it’s lowest point; but we, nurses, doctors, healthcare assistants, physiotherapists, occupational therapists, cleaners, caterers, countless other healthcare workers, us fellow human beings; will do our utmost best to make things right again for you. To make things normal again. Even if ‘normality’ is not an option, we will do our best to make it as comfortable and pain free as possible.

Don’t let the NHS be turned into a business.

We are not for profit. We are for life. Human life.

Harry Thomas

@_harrybo

One Comment leave one →
  1. Christine Shepherd permalink
    May 7, 2015 7:48 pm

    A wonderful piece.
    If you are frightened for the life of your loved one or in desperate need of treatment, reassurance and to know someone is doing their best for you. The NHS is the first port of call and we rely on it being there for us.
    I have spent a great deal of time with Parents in hospital over the years, also spending time in hospital myself. We have nothing but praise for the wonderful Nurses and Doctors we have met. The Nurses we have encountered seem to go out of their way to care.
    My Niece is currently in her second year of Nurse training.

Leave a Reply

